Home > Business, Social Media > Social Media for Businesses and Entrepreneurs

Social Media for Businesses and Entrepreneurs



Today’s article is a guest post by Jeremiah Kephart, owner of Coffee Connection in Salt Lake City.  I’ve followed his company’s social media efforts and he was a recent guest on the Web Marketing Weekly Show.

Hello everyone!  Jeremiah Kephart here, and I am writing a guest blog for Nigel Swaby. It’s a follow-up from our live interview that we did a week or so back about Social media for businesses and entrepreneurs.

As a quick refresher, I own a local business called Coffee Connection.

We refer to the website mentioned above a number of times during the live interview so you might want to go sign up so you can follow along… I even give you a free drink just for becoming a member, and who does that? 😉

And of course since we are discussing social media, you will probably also want to go and become a fan on Facebook.  And the all important twitter account is here.

Now that you’re a racing fan, let’s get going! :3

In the interview we were discussing how I had paid catastrophic amounts of money over the course of several years to advertise my business in a million + different local rags, on the radio, passing out flyers, screaming into a megaphone on top of a soapbox, and praying for the rain which never ended up falling, no matter how much money or time I spent on it.

Luckily for all of us small-business owners and startups, there is a solution…

And that solution is social media.

By the way, if you haven’t listened to the interview, you might want to go and do so because there’s a lot of good candid information in it.

Don’t worry, I’ll wait 🙂

Great.  Now I’ve done my very damnedest to maximize all of my time in ‘social media,’ because who really has the time to sit around and post all day? We’re business owners. We have enormous bags of bricks to carry!

This being the case, I really needed all of this ‘social media energy’ to count for something as much as humanly possible. So as discussed in the interview, what I did (which was really really easy and stuff that anyone at all can do) is I went and set myself up a Facebook fan page (that you just became a fan of right?!) and MySpace account for the coffee shop before I started tweeting.

Because it’s crazy crazy easy to “link up” your Twitter account to these two other accounts (just click on the links provided for this purpose in FaceBook and MySpace) there is really no reason not to do it.  It takes all of 10 min.

So now when you or your staff posts content, everything that you have to offer goes out not only to Twitter but also to Facebook and MySpace. It’s a no brainer.  So now you don’t have to manage all three accounts, or suffer an aneurysm when all three screens at your office are filled with Web 2.0 blogging.  Everything that I do multiplies itself just like magic.

Now that’s all cute and everything, but there’s more.  And if you’re already excited, hold onto your seat… because if you’re a business owner like I am you’re going to like this a lot.

The funny thing about being a business owner, is that you get to set a job description for your employees. So now as part of my employees job description, they are tweet monsters! To my knowledge (and I’m pretty damn up-to-date with this stuff) no one else anywhere has ever figured this out, until now. I expect it will be repeated everywhere in the universe inside two years, but that’ll be fun because you get to get the jump on it.

Now, I know how painful it sounds to sit in your office and generate original content all day long.  I get it.  I don’t actually like doing it by myself. While I recognize the power of social media, I just kind of have better stuff to do than to make it my full time job.  So this is all perfect for me.

You can hear all about how to do it in the interview.
It’s episode 14 btw.

Now, something that I don’t think I got to stress enough in the interview is that with a little creativity you can take what you’ve done with your social media efforts, and maximize it over and over and over and over, making it way more worthwhile that it seems from the offset. (I’d like to take a moment to note that if you’re one of those evil marketers out there that uses the dark side of the force and produces crap, this will probably not work for you.)  Because people just eat up solid good content.  They love it.  And they love it because there’s so much “dark side of the force marketing” out there plaguing the world.  When they feel like they have a solid and genuine connection with your company that’s real, and legitimate, you can then syndicate the hell out of it, and it goes off like fireworks.

Never produce crap!  It’s a big pet peeve of mine.

In fact, getting slightly off topic, I did an interview for IN magazine in which they titled me “Scene Maker in Salt Lake,” which you can read here – and I think you’ll see the spirit of what I’m talking about.  This article was a big big hit because it was so authentic.  And there are really only two keys to success with social media.  Half of your success will be your CREATIVE STRATEGY, but the other big half is AUTHENTICITY.

To wrap up, I’d like to just say thanks to Nigel for providing the show for everyone.  I think he has some really strong material and he’s all about resources that are fun and cutting edge, and as we all know there’s no better way to get ahead than to not be behind.

This is Jeremiah Kephart, signing out.

  1. April 21, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Great piece! I like that you’ve given great advice.

    Like

  2. April 28, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I agree with your Blog and I will be back to check it more in the future so please keep up your work. I love your content & the way that you write. It looks like you’ve been doing this for a while now, how long have you been blogging for?

    Like

  3. May 7, 2010 at 3:33 am

    Wonderful piece of work. I like the way you have given the advice. I will be waiting for more of your articles.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

