Home > Social Media, Twitter > Twitter Tools for Maximum Productivity

Twitter Tools for Maximum Productivity


There’s a lot of noise out there about how unproductive social media is.

Twitter has many tools available to improve productivity, but it’s hard to determine which ones are the best.

For me, two features are very important; the ability to schedule tweets in the future and to coordinate a separate message for my Facebook business page.

Ultimately my goal is to build the number of followers I have who may be receptive to my message.  I’ve written about methods to increase followers in the past and having the right tools to acheive this goal is of utmost importance.

Over the past few months, I’ve been trying very hard to find the right Twitter toolset and I believe I’ve finally got it.

I use Twitjump to schedule tweets and get followers and there are similar tools out there.  What sets this software apart is you can add people by keyword and get analytics on how many times a particular word is searched or tweeted on Twitter.

To complete my toolset, I use Hootsuite to schedule Facebook updates.  That is the only missing piece of Twitjump.  So I can schedule tweets through either software, but need to use Hootsuite to schedule for Facebook. 

Both pieces of software have URL shorteners to save time and space and both are free.  I learned about Twitjump, which is still in Beta, at the Utah Stompernet meetup and I asked around quite a bit before trying Hootsuite.

No matter which tools you use, if you don’t have a strategy, your social media campaign won’t be successful.  Ultimately, the goal is to get in front of you prospect, customer or client.  I read this article yesterday about a Tweetup in New Zealand –

I went to my first Tweetup on Friday night and had a ball. It was the first NZ National Tweetup and it was just fantastic. Over the past couple of months I have been developing relationships with some great people, and it was wonderful to meet so many of them face to face….and we had such fun!

For me, this was proof that Twitter is a fantastic tool for developing great relationships – personal and business.

That is the key to social media.  No Twitter tool, as great as it may be, is a substitute for actually connecting with people in real life.  If you’re looking for tools to help you on Twitter, I highly recommend Twitjump and Hootsuite.

Tags: ,
  1. December 8, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Thanks for the ping-back Nigel.I really appreciate it.
    Jill
    http://www.jillporter.wordpress.com
    http://www.financialclarity.co.nz

    Like

  2. December 13, 2009 at 2:47 am

    Hi,
    I saw a tweet about your post from @twitter_tips. I use HootSuite and I’m very pleased with it. They just came out with the iPhone app too, but it’s not free.

    Have you ever tried Buzzom to manage your following? It lets you mass follow and unfollow people. They also have a lot of other features that help analyze your tweet stream. I’ll take a look at Twitjump too.

    Thanks for the tips.
    @Ileane

    Like

    • seobyswaby
      December 13, 2009 at 9:41 am

      Ileane,

      Thanks for your comment. I use Twitjump to manage my following and it provides analytics. It’s still in beta, so you may not have heard of it, but I highly recommend it.

      Nigel

      Like

  1. December 8, 2009 at 3:00 pm
  2. December 13, 2009 at 6:27 am
  3. December 14, 2009 at 7:01 pm
  4. December 26, 2009 at 3:14 pm
  5. January 23, 2010 at 2:48 pm
  6. January 28, 2010 at 11:23 pm
  7. March 17, 2010 at 4:46 pm
  8. April 5, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Leave a Reply

