Home > Facebook, Social Media > Why I’m Thankful for Facebook

Why I’m Thankful for Facebook


There’s a lot to be thankful for this Thursday, Thanksgiving Day, 2009.  I am thankful for the wonderful new people who have come into my life; my clients, my business partners, my suppliers and referral sources.

Of course I’m thankful for the people in my life, but as I reflect over this year, I think I’m most thankful for Facebook.

Why Facebook?  Because it makes it easy to stay in touch with people.  Over this last year I’ve been able to reconnect with friends from high school, college, old friends from ten years ago and recent friends I’ve lost contact with.

I’ve made an effort to meet those who are local and I’ve enjoyed chatting to those who aren’t local.

Facebook makes it easier to connect with family as well.  I can now chat with my cousin in Jamaica and I recently connected with my cousin in England.  In California, Facebook makes it easy for my brother to post photos of his three-year old son.  I chat with my sister in Rhode Island when she’s bored at her job.

We take technology like this for granted, when it really is amazing!  Earlier this summer comedian Louis CK complained about America and said, “Everything’s amazing, nobody’s happy!”

The country is in a recession and people are feeling sorry for themselves.  We simply need to stand up and take charge and use the amazing tools we have to get back on our feet.  There are some people out there who say social media is a waste of time, or it doesn’t work.  That’s like saying a hammer doesn’t work because it’s not driving in the nail.  You are ultimately responsible for how well the hammer works.  It’s just a tool.  So is social media.

If you’re using social media and not making real life connections, you’re using it wrong.  I read about different strategies for Twitter that involved auto-adding people to gain large followings.  I don’t believe this is the right way to go about it.  Human interactions can’t be automated!  Those who are successful at social media convert that digital contact into a real-life face to face or voice to voice contact.  There’s nothing automatic about that.  It’s simply being thoughtful and working at it.

Why not push your boundaries?  I know you’re thinking about someone, a friend, a family member who you haven’t been in touch with for a long time.  You may think they don’t like you, or remember you.  Reach out through Facebook and see if you can reconnect.  Maybe next year you’ll be thankful for Facebook too.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

