Home > Mainstream Media, New Media > Social Media is Media!

Social Media is Media!


mediaI was talking to a friend of mine last week who said she doesn’t get any news from the mainstream media.  Her news comes from her friends on Facebook and Twitter.

At first I was taken aback, but then I realized I’m relying more on social media for news as well.

I’ll admit, I’m a news junky.  I read voraciously, but I’m not reading news that much any more.  I can’t tell you the last time I saw more than 12 seconds of TV news and I don’t even listen to news on the radio.  This is something that’s just occurred in the last month or so.

Once I figured out how to search on Twitter, I can be just as informed, but through a different source; social media.  Once I stopped following the news and started being the media, my perspective has completely changed.

Today I was featured on an international blog in England as an SEO expert.  Murray Newlands is an expert at being the media, constantly publishing interviews of Internet marketers from around the world.  He’s an avid networker and attends conferences all over the world.  Thanks for the feature!

Next Wednesday I have a deadline to submit an article on social media to be published in Utah Pulse.  I’m still not sure what I’m going to write about.  Please send a question via email or comment on this post if you have an idea.

My point is we can be the media if we want to.  As a marketer, I’d rather be the news than watch the news.  I can submit press releases and wait to be contacted, or I can search for opportunities and volunteer.  Both the Murray Newlands opportunity and Utah Pulse came from reaching out and volunteering.

These are not huge opportunities, but they are targeted to markets I want to be seen in.  Murray Newlands is influential in his sphere and every Salt Lake SEO and web design company knows about the Social Media Club of SLC.  I am presenting myself as an expert to people I want to influence using social media.  You can do the very same thing!

Everybody is an expert at something and with the Internet there is an audience for every niche.  Newspaper companies, TV stations, magazines and other traditional media are folding, while social media companies are growing.  New media is so dynamic, mainstream media simply can’t compete.  Welcome to the new media.  How are you going to be a part of it?

Leave a Reply

