Home > Twitter > How to Get Twitter Followers Automatically

How to Get Twitter Followers Automatically


blogger quick tipsSometimes being an expert is a matter of knowing experts.  This tip is one of them.  As you know blogging is part of the social media family, even though most people think of Twitter or Facebook when hearing that term.

I am an expert level blogger, even though I learn at least one new thing about it every day.  I’m pretty good with Facebook too.  Twitter on the other hand is still in my experimental sandbox, so I can share whatever tips I learn when I find them out.

I got a tip from real estate blogger Larry Cragan about Twitter.  I tested it and it works.

I now know how to get Twitter followers automatically!

Larry writes on his Facebook business page:

Twitter calls this a hash tag: # You might call it a pound sign. Whatever. When posting an article in twitter you can use the # to identify it for searches. Ahah, like a tag does. So use it in front of your tweet and use it for searching.

Besides using “keywords” in my tweets, I’m now using these tags.  I got 16 new followers today just by using hashtags.

Three tips I’ve learned about Twitter hashtags:

1.  Don’t use spaces in the words.  #salt lake city only tags “salt.”  Use #saltlakecity instead.

2.  Commas are not necessary.  You’ve only got 140 characters!  Use #salt #lake #city instead of #salt, #lake, #city.

3.  Use a URL shortener before you tweet for extra space.  My URLs are based on my page title, so sometimes they’re long.  If I run out of space, I can use bit.ly or another URL shortener to free up space for hashtags.

By using keywords in your tweets and hashtags, you’ve got a surefire way to get more Twitter followers automatically.

  1. October 29, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Thanks for the post! had some problems with hash tags yesterday while attending a seminar. They didn’t seem to show up when I did a search for the hash tag.. any idea why?

    Like

    • seobyswaby
      October 29, 2009 at 7:24 am

      Matt,

      Thanks for the comment! I suppose the answer to your question is it was a popular topic and got “buried” fairly quickly. I was watching the the World Series on Twitter last night and tweets were coming in at hundreds per second at #worldseries, #phillies and #yankees.

      Nigel

      Like

    • Jonathan
      October 31, 2009 at 5:18 pm

      Did you use the hashtag at the start of the tweet? I think that causes problems. Use it in the middle or end of the message.

      Like

      • seobyswaby
        October 31, 2009 at 9:53 pm

        I use them at the beginning. It works for me. Today’s a record day and this post is being tweeted all over the place. Thanks for the comment.

        Nigel

        Like

  2. November 14, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Hey there everyone i was just introduceing myself here im a first time visitor who hopes to become a daily reader!

    Like

  3. January 23, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Thank you for this invaluable tit bit of informationa bout Hash Tags. I heard of them, had seen them but had no idea how to use them (or where to insert them) until reading this. Very helpful!

    Like

    • seobyswaby
      January 24, 2010 at 9:03 pm

      Thank you for leaving a comment. It helps me know I’m writing things people find useful.

      Nigel

      Like

  4. Bren Parks
    May 7, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    I never knew about them either, will be using them now, thanks!

    Like

  1. October 31, 2009 at 12:03 am
  2. October 31, 2009 at 5:06 pm
  3. October 31, 2009 at 7:23 pm
  4. November 3, 2009 at 12:06 am
  5. December 8, 2009 at 2:34 pm
  6. December 14, 2009 at 7:01 pm

Leave a Reply

