Home > Content generation > Posterous – Another Tool for Bloggers

Posterous – Another Tool for Bloggers


Kids Gardening tool setIt’s fascinating how a thought or idea can enter our consciousness, yet it takes repeat mentions to cause any action.

Consider my introduction to Posterous, a new publishing tool/data aggregator.

I was introduced to it by a new member of my Facebook business page.  When I saw her blog link I wondered, what’s Posterous?  I even looked at her site to see if it looked “funny.”  It didn’t.  It looked just like a regular blog.

I didn’t think much of it again until a few days later I saw media maven Pat Kitano publish a slideshow on the software.  When Pat posts, I read.  Pat’s take on the software is it’s an easy way to aggregate content for a blog that’s suffering from a lack of content.  The software formats an existing article and provides a link back to the original source.  It’s kind of like an article share on Facebook, except it goes on your blog.  One can also use it to create original content.

That’s how Utah top blogger nominee Paul Allen uses it, along with his regular software.  It was also this third exposure that made me think, “I really need to write about this.”  So here we are.

The Posterous website says all you have to do is email the content and they’ll do the rest.  Well, I haven’t tried it yet, but I know someone who has.

Renee Harris is using Posterous for her small business blog – MadeOn Hard Lotion and I asked her what it was like:

Pro’s for Posterous:

* You can write your blog from your email and it will post directly to your blog (never blogged before so I don’t know – common?)

* Apparently you can blog directly to your Facebook and other accounts by adding “Facebook” or other language to your addressee box, but I haven’t tried that yet

* Clutter-free interface

* Questions you email get answered by Sachin Agarwal (co-founder) within a day (this was my experience twice)

* Very easy to attach wav files, photos or video and then edit the post to place the attachments exactly where you want them in your blog

Cons:

* they don’t allow javascript on the site (so I can add a “join my fanclub” badge but can’t put a button which automatically has someone join my Facebook fan club when they click it)

* if you want to go back and add a photo to an earlier post, I haven’t been able to figure out how, except to email it again with the attachment, and then change the date back to the original

Thanks for the feedback Renee!

Posterous sounds like it could be a great tool for bloggers, making it easier for prolific bloggers and to generate content for those who don’t publish as much.

  1. October 5, 2009 at 1:28 am

    Thanks for your submission to the Sixty Seventh edition of the Blog Carnival: Blogging. Your post has been accepted and its live:

    http://thatsblog.com/blog-carnival-blogging/blog-carnival-blogging-sixty-seventh-edition

    -ThatsBlog.com

    Like

  2. October 6, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Thank you for another great post.
    I look forward to many more entries with high quality info.
    I’m a marketer myself and your information always seems to get my business brain going!!

    //www.facebook.com/CraigslistSoftwareForRealtors]Craigslist Software For Realtors

    Like

  3. October 12, 2009 at 3:54 am

    thanks for the post, a great read. nice one.

    Like

  4. October 12, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Cool. While I’m a bit of a “traditional” blogger if you will, it’s always good to have the lowdown on what else it out there.

    Like

    • seobyswaby
      October 12, 2009 at 11:34 am

      Thanks for stopping by! The nice thing about Posterous is you can use it just like a regular blog. It complements other blog software quite well.

      Nigel

      Like

  5. September 12, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    good post. I have been using posterous for a while, posting short notes and links of interest, I am now starting to use it more and more to create full articles that can be distributed via the social media network I have created. Posterous has so much potential.

    Like

  1. October 2, 2009 at 12:45 pm
  2. October 5, 2009 at 1:24 am
  3. October 11, 2009 at 10:21 am
  4. October 11, 2009 at 6:04 pm
  5. December 28, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Leave a Reply

