Facebook for SEO?


apples&orangesIs Facebook a good tool for SEO?  I’m not really sure to be quite honest.  The reason I say this is Facebook has a lot of anti-spam features and is just now evolving into a business marketplace.

Think about what Facebook was originally created for – a place for college age friends to meet up online.  Now look at what it has become.  Then think about where it could go!

Facebook is not an SEO tool, it’s a tool by itself.  Facebook does rank well on search engines.  My business page is pulling a respectable SERP of six on Google, but how many business pages do I want to create for SEO?  How many will Facebook even let me create?  I want to build my “fan” base on Facebook, not fragment it, so I’m not going to become a “spambooker.”  I’m just going to be satisfied that two key terms for my business get duplicated in the search engine results because of Facebook.

Facebook and SEO?

Utilizing Facebook has been a key to establishing this site.  A web marketer has much more to think about in developing an Internet marketing plan, but they have that many more tools at their disposal.  I actually think Facebook will replace websites for a lot of small businesses.  A business owner can easily create a page that is clean and well designed with a lot of backlinks naturally going to the main page for a small amount of time and no money.  Promoting this page will grow the customer base with people who are willing to listen to the marketing message.  How long will Facebook business pages be free?  I don’t think anybody knows, but I do believe it would be wise to get one as soon as possible.

In July, the California startup company announced it had hit the 250 million-user mark, which indicates it has grown by 50 million users in two months. That’s more than 800,000 new users per day.

Can Facebook be used for SEO?  Yes, but in a very limited way.  Facebook is its own tool and should be used along with other web marketing tools like SEO, PPC and social media.

  1. September 16, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I do know a few things about facebook that sucks when marketing your websites.

    All external links are no follow allowing no page rank juice to be passed and is not considered as a back link.

    All external links require authentication (confirmation) you do in fact trust the site and know you are leaving a facebook page. I think this rises suspension and and makes people second guess your websites continuity.

    So for SEO I woudl say no. For marketing and promotion I woudl say hell yes.

    Like

    • seobyswaby
      September 16, 2009 at 11:03 am

      Brian,

      Thanks for the feedback. What you’re saying is something I suspected and therefore another reason Facebook isn’t an SEO tool, it’s a tool by itself. I know black hatters will try and game Facebook and that will make FB even more SEO unfriendly.

      Like

  2. September 16, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Well another thing I shoudl mentieon.

    This group you have or page is not accessible from the public. I actually have to log in. Oddly enough even when I logged in I was sent to my profile page and not your group.

    I started a blog engage group but I’m not sure if ti’s worth the effort.

    Like

    • seobyswaby
      September 16, 2009 at 4:14 pm

      Brian,

      That’s one of the challenges with Facebook and SEO. I logged out to see what you were seeing and you do have to be a FB member to get in, but people can still see what’s going on, so that’s alright.

      One of the nice things about these business pages is you can link to Twitter, so when I make an update, I only do it in one place. It saves a little bit of time.

      Nigel

      Like

  3. September 16, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Yeah that’s a nice feature.

    On a side and positive note facebook allows you to also market to friends and family. This creates great word of mouth affect and could increase traffic as well.

    I wouldn’t use facebook to get 300 friends to a page or group I would however use facebook if I already had 300 friends. (which i do)

    Great marketing tool! I agree it’s definitely a tool of it’s own. I never integrated both yet but I have been using it a lot seeing I just got an iphone.

    I just added my facebook group link on blogengage a week or two ago I’m wiling to try it out.

    Like

  1. September 16, 2009 at 10:34 am
  2. September 16, 2009 at 10:51 am
  3. September 16, 2009 at 11:43 am
  4. September 16, 2009 at 12:29 pm
  5. September 16, 2009 at 5:56 pm
  6. September 16, 2009 at 6:04 pm
  7. September 17, 2009 at 2:14 am
  8. September 17, 2009 at 11:30 am
  9. September 25, 2009 at 11:40 am

Leave a Reply

