Home > SEO, Web marketing > Is Ongoing Search Engine Optimization Necessary?

Is Ongoing Search Engine Optimization Necessary?


Last week I had a meeting with John over at inQuo, a computer support company.  He suggested I write an article about why SEO must be ongoing and not a one shot deal.

That is a very good idea because many people think we SEO guys just sprinkle a little magic dust and presto websites are appearing on the front page of Google.

While I could go into detail about specific steps that need to be taken each month, the bigger reason ongoing SEO needs to occur is more conceptual.

Three major reasons you need ongoing SEO services:

1.  Google loves fresh content and rewards it with high results.  If you don’t have someone to update your content or site on a regular basis, any upfront, on page SEO will eventually lose its value.  It may not happen right away, but it will happen.

2.  Tracking.  Businesses and people for that matter tend to perform better when there’s a number to beat.  If you don’t measure performance, you’ll never know how to improve it.  Any SEO service should involve monthly reporting.  For certain types of PPC, these reports should be weekly.

3.  Expertise.  While having tracking in place is part of the battle, knowing how to read those numbers is the other part.  For this site, I’ve found Friday’s are my slowest day of the week.  I’ve tried additional marketing on Twitter and making sure to post new content to help drive traffic on that day, but it still tends to be my slowest day.  Other sites I’ve managed have other “slow” days.  It’s my experience that tells me whether to be concerned or to recognize that it’s a normal traffic trend.

The same applies to spikes in traffic.  If you get one you want to know why, whether that traffic is effective and whether to try and duplicate it.  Again, it’s experience that matters.

Some people think SEO is a waste of time and money.  Some SEO companies will waste your time and money.  I don’t think a properly executed campaign is.  I’ve seen amazing results in the past and now from being on top of the search engines both in traffic and income.  I know proper SEO works and I know it needs to be ongoing.  There is no magic dust.  There are no instant results.

  1. sue
    December 3, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Thanks for the very helpful information about SEO. I enjoyed reading your article and I found it very interesting. Staying tuned for more.

  2. Corey Lee
    December 3, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    I’m not surprised that many people think SEO companies have magic dust for SEO. We cannot set aside the fact that some of the blame is to be put on the influx of so-called “professionals” claiming front page results. They generally offer these services in a sentence or two and that’s all potential clients hear. Personally, I would like to see a challenge consisting of 10 companies trying SEO a paper bag to the front page of Google. Patiently waiting…

  3. December 4, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Not only that, the google algorithm is changing all the time. Just recently I heard that they were going to limit the amount of pages indexed per site. So the companies with millions of pages are going to be in a bit of trouble (sorry I don’t have a source)

    Just today google have have released personlised searching which I’m sure will rock the world of SEO in some way. Source – (http://searchengineland.com/google-now-personalizes-everyones-search-results-31195)

    Sarge | BeginnerBlogger.com

  1. December 3, 2009 at 2:41 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

